Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Kirio user management explained

Explanation

To manage the users connected to your Kirio system, open the Kirio app and tap on Users in the menu.

Users of a Kirio system are organized into two types that define their roles: Master and regular users.

For each regular user, an access-type can be granted to Full, Local or Read-only. The access-type setting provides permission-based and location-based access control to devices included in the the Kirio system. Please read the information below for a full explanation.


User-types defined

Regular - A regular user is able to:

  • Control, adjust and monitor all devices.
  • Create private scenarios.
  • Execute own and shared scenarios.
  • Share scenarios with other Regular users.
  • Rename and organize rooms on their devices.


Master - A master user is like a Regular user with the added ability to:

  • Approve new users and set their Access-type.
  • Block and remove any existing users including other Masters.
  • Grant Master access to Regular users.
  • Remove Master access from other Master users.
  • Modify access-type of other Regular users.
  • See, run and edit all scenarios including any unshared scenarios.
  • Rename rooms, home name and potentially device names.
  • Add new devices to their Kirio system.
  • Remove devices from their Kirio system.
  • Authenticate 3rd party systems like Alexa or Google Home.


Access-types defined for Regular users

Full: can connect from anywhere.

Local: can only connect to Kirio while on the same local WiFi.

Read-only: can connect to Kirio, but only see devices and their status. Any user with Read-only access cannot control any devices.



Master users always have Full access which allows them to fully manage the Kirio system from anywhere. 


Still need help?

The Kirio customer service team is here for you.